Entête de page

News

Home News

Asset Publisher

Back Place Benjamin Zix, the Christmas market in the heart of Petite France

Place Benjamin Zix, the Christmas market in the heart of Petite France

Published on 7 December 2023

With its half-timbered houses, Christmas decorations worthy of the finest Instagram accounts and picturesque little streets, Petite France is a unique setting for the Christmas market. Find out more.

Heading down the rue du Fossé des Tanneurs from the Grand Rue, you soon come to a small square adorned with majestic plane trees: this is where the Place Benjamin Zix Christmas market lights up. Surrounded by cobbled streets, small canals and typical Alsatian houses, this market offers visitors an almost magical atmosphere.

Hot wine with white wine

Among the dozen or so chalets on hand, you're quickly drawn in by the smell of mulled wine concocted by Marilyne Lefebvre, manager and creator of the Vietnamese restaurant Poids Plume. In her chalet, she offers the traditional mulled wine made with red wine, but also a mulled wine prepared with white wine. But what Marilyne really enjoys cooking is her soups, for which she changes the recipe every two or three days. "I start with seasonal vegetables and season them with spices, ginger, turmeric, or coconut milk" she says. Marilyne's culinary influences come from her Vietnamese grandmother. "Through my cooking, I like to take my customers on a journey, introducing them to new textures and flavours, while respecting traditions and a taste for meticulous work", Marilyne confides.

Traditional gingerbread

The gourmet experience continues at the Mireille Oster gingerbread chalet! Here you can (re)discover her unconditional gingerbread bars and bags, as well as confectionery, "bredele" and spirits. This House stands out for its ability to reinvent gingerbread through original and varied recipes. These creations include ginger, goji berries, candied melon, orange blossom and figs. To vary the pleasures and tastes, different flours and different types of honey are used.

For an Alsatian touch

After salivating over these gourmet stands, another type of chalet catches our eye: those devoted to Christmas decorations!

Marc Berger's chalet is a showcase for Alsatian craftsmanship. Among the items on display are bredele cookie cutters, reconstituted stone reproductions and the must-have Christmas "Springerle".

We continue our journey in Alsace with the chalet of Matthieu Doger, who creates Alsatian houses in terracotta, made exclusively from real models. More than just a decorative reminder of the typical architecture of our region, these cottages can even be transformed into essential oil diffusers. "All you have to do is insert a candle and place a little water and oil in the chimney" he explains.

In the same spirit, Nathalie Wilm offers blown glass photophores in her chalet, featuring the typical landscapes of our Alsatian capital. Petite France, the Cathedral, the Kammerzell House... the whole of Strasbourg is represented! "These original decorations are the creations of my son-in-law, Julien Fuchs", explains Nathalie.

An enchanting setting

The more specialized "Noël en Alsace" chalet showcases everything you need to decorate your home in the colours of Christmas. Nativity scenes, hanging ornaments, Santons, Christmas trees, stars... The chalet offers a wide range of decorative items, from the most sober to the most extravagant.

Still on the theme of Christmas decorations, the Site Verrier de Meisenthal is exhibiting its famous and highly prized glass baubles in its chalet, made using unique know-how. The chalet's star attraction will be its 2023 Christmas bauble: the "Stella", which evokes a dazzling cabaret dancer.

Last but not least, typical German decorations are also making an appearance at the Christmas market! Elie Laumont's chalet features candle pyramids, nutcrackers, and small incense-burning figures.

The essential candles

Not far away, a small chalet catches our eye: the one run by Light & Co. The sales area features a number of richly decorated vases and jars in which candles are floating. "We don't sell traditional candles, but kits that you can make yourself" explain Laurence Anna and Guillaume Kilbert, co-founders of Light & Co.

The principle is simple: simply fill a transparent vase with water and insert decorative objects. Fragrant oils can be added to diffuse a gentle scent of orange or cinnamon throughout your home... Once lit, the candle can burn for between 20 and 30 hours without fading. And to start again for a similar length of time, replace the wick with a small piece of rolled-up toilet paper! In a different style, Petro Zaripov has several scent diffusers in his chalet, in the form of ceramic houses or small historical and fantastic figurines.

For a look made in Alsace

The Christmas markets also give visibility to local clothing and accessories designers. Sophie Peirani, a designer of jewellery, hats and accessories, is in the spotlight at the Place Benjamin Zix. Many people already know her from her boutique, which has been set up in the heart of Petite France on rue du Fossé des Tanneurs for 31 years! What does she love? Personalising her creations to suit the style, desires and personality of her customers. "At the Christmas market, I'll be offering hats, berets and capelines made from beautiful materials. What's popular at the moment is the fabric I call 'doudou', which is warm and comfortable to wear", Sophie shares.

It's hard to leave such enchanting surroundings... and yet, at 9pm, the Christmas market on Place Benjamin Zix is about to close. All we want to do is come back tomorrow to see it decked out in lights once again.

Entête de page

Actus

Accueil Actus

Agrégateur de contenus

Retour Place Benjamin Zix, le marché de Noël au cœur de la Petite France

Place Benjamin Zix, le marché de Noël au cœur de la Petite France

Publié le 7 décembre 2023

Avec ses maisons à colombages, ses décorations de Noël dignes des plus beaux comptes Instagram et ses petites ruelles pittoresques, la Petite France offre un écrin unique au marché de Noël. Découverte.

En descendant le rue du Fossé des Tanneurs à partir de la Grand Rue, on arrive rapidement sur une petite place ornée de majestueux platanes : c’est là que s’illumine le marché de Noël de la place Benjamin Zix. Entouré de rues pavées, de petits canaux et de maisons typiquement alsaciennes, ce marché offre à ses visiteurs une atmosphère presque magique.

Vin chaud au vin blanc

Parmi la dizaine de chalets présents, on est rapidement attiré par la bonne odeur du vin chaud concoctée par Marilyne Lefebvre, gérante et créatrice du restaurant vietnamien « Poids Plume ». Dans son chalet, elle propose le traditionnel vin chaud à base de vin rouge, mais aussi un vin chaud préparé avec du vin blanc. Mais ce qu’aime surtout mijoter Marilyne, ce sont ses soupes, dont elle change la recette tous les deux, trois jours. « Je pars sur une base de légumes de saison, que j’assaisonne avec des épices, du gingembre, du curcuma ou encore du lait de coco », partage la jeune femme. Ces influences culinaires, Marilyne les tient de sa grand-mère d’origine vietnamienne. « J’aime par ma cuisine faire voyager mes clients, leur faire découvrir de nouvelles textures, de nouvelles saveurs tout en respectant les traditions et le goût du travail soigné », confie Marilyne.

Le traditionnel pain d’épices

La gourmandise se poursuit au chalet du pain d’épices Mireille Oster ! On y (re)découvre ses inconditionnelles barres et sachets de pain d’épices, mais aussi des confiseries, des « bredele » et des spiritueux. Cette Maison se distingue par sa capacité à réinventer le pain d’épices à travers des recettes originales et variées. On retrouve ainsi dans ces créations du gingembre, des baies de goji, du melon confit, de la fleur d’oranger ou encore de la figue… Pour varier les plaisirs et les envies, différentes farines ainsi que multiples essences de miel sont utilisées.

Pour un décor alsacien

Après avoir salivé devant ces stands gourmands, un autre type de chalet capte notre regard : ceux consacrés aux décorations de Noël !

L’artisanat alsacien est mis à l’honneur au sein du chalet de Marc Berger. On y retrouve, entre autres, des emporte-pièces à bredele, des reproductions en pierre reconstituées et les incontournables « Springerle » de Noël.

On poursuit son voyage en Alsace avec le chalet de Matthieu Doger, qui crée des maisonnettes alsaciennes en terre cuite, exclusivement réalisées à partir de modèles réels. Plus qu’une décoration rappelant l’architecture typique de notre région, ces maisonnettes peuvent même être transformées en diffuseurs d’huiles essentielles. « Il suffit d’y intégrer une bougie et de placer un peu d’eau et d’huile dans la cheminée », éclaire-t-il.

Dans ce même esprit, Nathalie Wilm propose dans son chalet des photophores en verre soufflé, sur lesquels on retrouve les paysages typiques de notre capitale alsacienne. Petite France, Cathédrale, Maison Kammerzell… tout Strasbourg y est représenté ! « Ces décors originaux sont les créations de mon gendre, Julien Fuchs », précise Nathalie.

Un décor enchanteur

Plus spécialisé, le chalet « Noël en Alsace » met en lumière tout ce qui permet d’habiller sa maison aux couleurs de Noël. Crèches, boules à suspendre, santons, sapins, étoiles… Le chalet propose une multitude d’objets de décoration allant du plus sobre au plus extravagant.

Toujours sur le thème des décors de Noël, le Site Verrier de Meisenthal expose au sein de son chalet ses célèbres et très prisées boules en verre, fabriquée selon un savoir-faire unique. Le chalet présentera en star sa boule de Noël 2023 : la « Stella » qui évoque une étourdissante danseuse de cabaret.

Enfin, les décors typiquement allemands font aussi leur entrée sur le marché de Noël ! Elie Laumont propose en effet dans son chalet des pyramides à bougies, des casse-noisettes et de petits personnages brûle-encens.

Les incontournables bougies

Non loin de là, un petit chalet attire notre attention : celui tenu par Light & Co. Sur son espace de vente, on peut admirer de nombreux vases et bocaux richement décorés, dans lesquels flottent des bougies. « Nous ne vendons pas de bougies traditionnelles, mais bien des kits pour les fabriquer soi-même » précisent Laurence Anna et Guillaume Kilbert, cofondateurs de Light & Co.

Le principe est simple : il suffit de remplir un vase transparent d’eau et d’y insérer des objets de décoration. Des huiles parfumées peuvent y être ajoutée afin de diffuser dans son chez-soi une douce odeur d’orange ou de cannelle… Une fois allumée, la bougie peut brûler entre 20 et 30 heures sans faiblir. Et pour repartir sur une durée similaire, on remplace la mèche par un petit bout de papier toilette roulé ! Dans un autre style, Petro Zaripov propose dans son chalet plusieurs diffuseurs à parfums sous forme de maisonnettes en céramique ou de petites figurines historiques et fantastiques.

Pour un look made in Alsace

Les marchés de Noël offrent également une visibilité aux créateurs de vêtements et d’accessoires locaux. Celui de la place Benjamin Zix donne la part belle à Sophie Peirani, créatrice de bijoux, de chapeaux et d’accessoires. Beaucoup la connaissent déjà via sa boutique, installée au cœur de la Petite France, rue du Fossé des Tanneurs depuis déjà 31 ans ! Ce qu’elle aime ? Personnaliser ses créations au style, aux envies et à la personnalité de ses clientes. « Au marché de Noël, je vais surtout proposer des bonnets, des bérets, des capelines… réalisés dans de belles matières. Ce qui plaît en ce moment, c’est le tissu que j’appelle « doudou », chaud et agréable à porter », partage Sophie.

Difficile de quitter un environnement aussi enchanteur… et pourtant, à 21 heures, le marché de Noël de la Place Benjamin Zix va bientôt fermer. On n’a qu’une envie, y revenir demain pour le voir se parer à nouveau de ses habits de lumières.