Entête de page

News

Home News

Asset Publisher

Back More Eco-Friendly Christmas Lights

More Eco-Friendly Christmas Lights

Published on 21 December 2023

To better align with environmental considerations and the need for energy efficiency while maintaining a magical experience, the city and its partners have once again worked on new ways to illuminate the city this year.

Energy Efficiency

Every day from November 24, 2023, to January 7, 2024, as night falls, the city adorns itself with its most beautiful lights. Since 2022, to reduce costs and environmental impact, the City of Strasbourg has decreased the number of decorations on the most illuminated streets by 20%. It has also shortened their operating hours, turning off the lights at 11:00 PM.

All city-managed decorations use long-lasting, low-energy LED technology.

Thanks to these measures, the electricity consumption of Christmas lights has been reduced by a factor of 10 since 2010.

Responsible Decorations

Beyond energy efficiency, the city also focuses on the sustainability of its decorations. A large portion of them is reused from one edition to the next. Some decorations from past editions were also purchased second-hand.

Finally, when decorations reach the end of their life, the City of Strasbourg has an agreement for the recycling of waste electrical and electronic equipment (WEEE) and source recycling.

Discover all our eco-friendly actions.

Entête de page

Actus

Accueil Actus

Agrégateur de contenus

Retour Des illuminations de Noël toujours plus sobres.

Des illuminations de Noël toujours plus sobres.

Publié le 21 décembre 2023

Pour respecter au mieux les considérations environnementales et une nécessaire sobriété énergétique tout en maintenant une expérience magique, la ville et ses partenaires ont cette année encore travaillé sur de nouvelles façons d’illuminer la ville.

Sobriété énergétique

Tous les jours du 24 novembre 2023 au 7 janvier 2024, lorsque la nuit tombe, la ville se pare de ses plus belles lumières. Depuis 2022, afin de réduire son coût et son impact sur l’environnement, la Ville de Strasbourg a donc réduit de 20% le nombre d’illuminations sur les axes les plus illuminés. Elle a également réduit leurs horaires de fonctionnement, avec une extinction des lumières à 23h00.

Toutes les illuminations gérées par la Ville sont en technologie LED à longue durée de vie et à très faible consommation électrique.

Grâce à ces mesures, depuis 2010, la consommation électrique des illuminations de Noël a été divisée par 10.

Des décors responsables

Au-delà de la sobriété énergétique, la ville travaille également sur la durabilité de ses décorations. Une large partie d’entre elles sont réutilisées d’une édition à l’autre. Les éditions passées, certaines décorations furent également achetées en réemploi.

Enfin, lorsque les décorations sont en fin de vie, la Ville de Strasbourg dispose d’une convention de recyclage des déchets des équipements électriques et électroniques (D3E) et de recyclage des sources.

Découvrez toutes nos actions écoresponsables