Entête de page

Noël islandais

During the Christmas festivities, an additional touch of magic takes hold of the city as it discovers a guest country. This year, Strasbourg is welcoming Iceland, the charms of which you can discover at the Icelandic Village in place Gutenberg.

Icelandic culture is full of traditions at Christmas, and in reality, darkness is an advantage when organising a light festival!

Icelanders celebrate Christmas over 13 days, and traditionally, the ceremony is focused on good food and family. This festival has deep roots for most Icelanders, since it coincides with the darkest period of the year and the moment when days start to lengthen again. As a result, Icelanders try to bring light to their festivities. Icelanders decorate their houses, inside and out, with twinkling Christmas lights. And like many regions in the world, a magnificently decorated Christmas tree is an important accessory in the living room. Indeed, Christmas in Iceland is certainly different than in other countries.

To begin with, there are not one, but 13 Father Christmases, who are loved and known as “Jolasveinar”. Instead of coming from the North Pole in a sleigh pulled by a reindeer, the Icelandic “Jolasveinars” live in the mountains and each visit the city in turn, until Christmas Eve, to bring little presents to the children. According to Icelandic folklore, their practices may be linked to bad genes and/or upbringing, since they are the children of a three-headed ogress named Grýla - whose favourite food is a stew made from naughty children - and her third husband, an ugly ogre named Leppalúði. Icing on the cake: their cat, jólakötturinn, who, rumour has it, eats children who do not receive new clothes to wear on Christmas day. The history of Strasbourg has had a European dimension since the establishment of the first Roman camp.

New Year’s Eve is probably the most important night festival of the year. The fireworks are visible all night, reaching a climax at midnight, when the sky lights up for several minutes, the fire engines ring their bells and the boats sound their horns to bring in the new year. It is certainly the biggest firework display you have ever seen..

 

Afficheur d'événements

Calendar

See all events

Slider Islande

Entête de page

Noël islandais

Au moment des festivités de Noël, un brin de magie supplémentaire s’empare de la Ville grâce à la découverte d’un pays invité.
Cette année, Strasbourg accueille L’Islande, dont vous pouvez découvrir tous les charmes, au Village islandais, place Gutenberg.

La culture islandaise est riche en traditions à Noël, et en réalité, pour organiser un festival de lumière, l'obscurité est un atout ! 

Les Islandais fêtent Noël en 13 jours et traditionnellement la cérémonie est centrée sur la bonne chair et la famille. Cette fête est profondément ancrée chez la plupart des islandais, car elle coïncide avec la période la plus sombre de l'année et au moment où les jours commencent à s'allonger. En conséquence, les Islandais œuvrent pour apporter de la lumière à leurs festivités. Les Islandais décorent leurs maisons avec des lumières éclatantes de Noël à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur. Et, comme dans beaucoup de régions dans le monde, un arbre de Noël merveilleusement décoré est un accessoire important de la salle de séjour. 

En effet, Noël en Islande est certainement différent de la version pratiquée dans d'autres pays. Pour commencer, il ne comprend pas un seul, mais 13 Pères Noël, qui sont adorés et nommés Jolasveinar. Au lieu de venir du pôle Nord dans un traîneau tiré par un renne, les Jolasveinar islandais vivent dans les montagnes et vont en ville chacun leur tour jusqu'à la veille de Noël pour ramener des petits cadeaux aux enfants. Selon le folklore islandais, leurs habitudes ont peut-être quelque chose à avoir avec une génétique et/ou une éducation malheureuse, étant les enfants d'une ogresse à trois têtes appelée Grýla - dont le plat préféré est un ragoût d'enfants capricieux - et son troisième mari, un ogre laid appelé Leppalúði. Cerise sur le gâteau : leur chat, jólakötturinn, dont la rumeur affirme qu'il mange les enfants qui ne reçoivent pas de nouveaux vêtements à porter le jour de Noël. 

La veille du Nouvel An est probablement la plus importante fête nocturne de l'année. Les feux d'artifice sont visibles toute la nuit, culminant à minuit, quand le ciel s'allume pendant quelques minutes et lorsque les camions d'incendie sonnent leurs cloches et les bateaux klaxonnent pour accueillir la nouvelle année. Il s’agit certainement du plus grand spectacle de feux d'artifice que vous ayez vu.

Afficheur d'événements

Slider Islande