Entête de page

Craftsmanship at the heart of Christmas

Home Discover Craftsmanship at the heart of Christmas

Craftsmanship at the heart of Christmas

Set as bookmark

For many years, Strasbourg has enjoyed the Ville et Métiers d’Art (Arts and Crafts City) label, which rewards endeavors to preserve, showcase and promote the sometimes centuries-old know-how of artisan trade associations and artistic craftsmanship. 

When you think of Christmas, you think of rituals and traditions: mulled wine on a street corner, the star that is placed at the top of the tree, meals with family and friends, etc.

In Alsace, there are many such traditions linked to craftsmanship know-how. Decoration, fine foods, original gifts, and more. The stalls are brimming with gourmet delights and exceptional items that symbolize Christmas in Alsace. Strasbourg, Capital of Christmas celebrates the work — a far cry from cliché — of these local producers who work in harmony with the terroir and their materials.

The region's designers and artisans are behind the decorations that light up the city, sheltered by the stalls. Their hands shape what creates the magic and charm of Christmas: wooden toys made in Alsace in one place, pottery from Soufflenheim and Betschdorf in another, craft beers here, Advent wreaths over there and Christmas baubles made of glass blown at the International Glass Art Center in Meisenthal, etc. There is sure to be something for everyone !

The Christmas flea market

Organized by Strasbourg's second-hand market traders association (ABFNS), this flea market is held in the large hall of the L’Aubette building on Place Kléber. You will find a host of antique and second-hand dealers who will be displaying antique items and works of art for sale, ranging from Alsatian painting and pottery to furniture, along with design, vintage, old linen and tableware items, providing a diverse selection. Offering a delight for the eyes and the excitement of unearthing a real gem, you will find ideas for authentic gifts.

From November 26 to December 5. Visit the Grande Salle of L'Aubette on place Kléber.

More info

OZ, the Christmas Crafts Fair

The Alsatian federation of crafts (Frémaa) highlights the talent and expertise of some sixty craftsmen and women with an utterly charming pop-up store where those with an eye for unique items can find distinctive hand-made gifts. Ceramicists, glass-makers, cabinetmakers, jewelry and fashion designers reveal their latest collections.

Without a doubt, the OZ fair is an opportunity to go ultra-local when it comes to your Christmas shopping, with a focus on quality and originality!

Visit the Grande Salle of L'Aubette on place Kléber.

More info

 

Slider l'artisanat au coeur de Noël

Entête de page

L'artisanat au cœur de Noël

Accueil Noël à Strasbourg L'artisanat au cœur de Noël

L'artisanat au cœur de Noël

Ajouter à mes favoris

Strasbourg bénéficie depuis de nombreuses années du label Ville et Métiers d’Art, qui récompense la préservation, la valorisation et la promotion des savoir-faire, parfois multiséculaires, des corporations d’artisans et des métiers d’art.

Penser Noël, c’est penser rituels et traditions : le vin chaud au coin de la rue, l’étoile que l'on place au sommet du sapin, les repas en famille et entre amis…

En Alsace, ces traditions sont nombreuses et liées aux savoir-faire artisanaux. Décoration, gastronomie, cadeaux originaux… Les chalets accueillent gourmandises et pièces d’exception qui symbolisent le Noël alsacien. Strasbourg Capitale de Noël célèbre ce travail, loin des clichés, de ces producteurs locaux qui travaillent dans le respect du terroir et de la matière.

Les créateurs et les artisans de la région sont derrière les décors qui illuminent la ville, abrités par les chalets. Leurs mains façonnent ce qui fait la magie et la saveur de Noël : là des jouets en bois fabriqués en Alsace, là encore des poteries de Soufflenheim et de Betschdorf, ici des bières artisanales, là encore des couronnes de l’Avent et des boules de Noël en verre soufflé au Centre international d’Art Verrier à Meisenthal, etc. C'est sûr, il y en a pour tous les gouts !

Le Noël de la brocante

Organisée par l’Association des Brocanteurs et Fripiers non-sédentaires de Strasbourg, cette brocante s’installe dans la grande salle de l’Aubette, place Kléber. Retrouvez-y de nombreux antiquaires et brocanteurs qui exposeront à la vente des objets et des œuvres d’art anciennes aussi divers que la peinture et la poterie alsaciennes, le mobilier alsacien et complémentairement pour diversifier l’offre le design, le vintage, le linge ancien, ainsi que les arts de la table. Pour le plaisir des yeux et la joie d'y dénicher la perle rare, vous y trouverez des idées de cadeaux authentiques.

Du 26 novembre au 5 décembre. Rendez-vous à l'Aubette 1928 située place Kléber.

Plus d'infos

OZ, le Noël des métiers d’art

La Fédération des métiers d’art d’Alsace (Frémaa) met en lumière le talent et le savoir-faire d’une soixantaine d'artisans d’art à travers une boutique éphémère pleine de charme dans laquelle les amateurs de pièces uniques pourront dénicher des cadeaux singuliers, façonnés à la main. Céramistes, verriers, ébénistes, créateurs de bijoux et de mode y dévoilent leurs dernières collections.

Le salon OZ est sans aucun doute l’occasion d’emprunter un circuit ultra-court pour faire ses achats de Noël en privilégiant la qualité et l’originalité !

Rendez-vous à l’Aubette 1928 située place Kléber.

Plus d'infos

 

Slider l'artisanat au coeur de Noël