Strasbourg Capital of Christmas

From 25th of November to 31st of December 2016
Strasbourg Capital of Christmas
It was in Strasbourg in 1570 that the very first edition of the oldest Christmas market in Europe took place, then called the "Christkindelsmärik" (market of the Infant Jesus). Since this time, Strasbourg has continued the tradition of a traditional, authentic, warm and generous Alsatian Christmas and these are all the reasons why "Strasbourg, the Capital of Christmas" continues to enjoy repeated success.

About 300 stalls are spread out over 12 locations under the glow of the city's illuminations, making Strasbourg one of the largest Christmas markets in Europe. You'll find all kinds of things there, including craftwork, food and drink and traditional Alsatian Christmas decorations.

Strasbourg was, for the 2nd year running, voted the best Christmas market in Europe in 2015, as part of the worldwide competition launched by the Brussels-based European Best Destinations organisation. Votes were cast on the basis of the quality, reputation and choice offered at the Christmas markets in the competition

Come night-time, the Capital of Christmas is lit up by dozens of kilometres of Christmas lights and decorations, while the centrepiece, the Great Christmas Tree on place Kléber, brings a magnificent sparkle to the city centre.This is an age-old Strasbourg tradition, recorded in a manuscript dated 1605, describing the fir trees and their decorations put up by the Strasbourg trade guilds during the Advent period.

Every year, Christmas is made just that little bit extra special with a special guest-country village. In 2016 Strasbourg will welcome Portugal as the guest country, whose traditions and charms can be found at the Portuguese village.

Let's not forget the Village of Sharing, right next to the Great Christmas Tree. Run by charities and humanitarian organisations, it offers visitors the chance to show their generosity to people in need.

Strasbourg, Capital of Christmas, would not be the same without the some 500 events organised throughout the city, including live music, shows and exhibitions. There's something to suit every taste as you walk down the narrow streets, across the squares and past the magnificent historical buildings.

Strasbourg, Capital of Christmas, will be an unforgettable way for people of all ages to experience the magic of Christmas.

But there's also another way to enjoy Christmas - and so you can enjoy an alternative Christmas, run alongside the traditional market.

Try it, you'll be surprised by what you find !

Useful documents

Strasbourg, Capitale de Noël

Du 25 novembre au 31 décembre 2016
Strasbourg, Capitale de Noël
C'est en 1570, à Strasbourg, qu'a eu lieu la toute première édition du plus vieux marché de Noël en Europe, baptisé alors "Christkindelsmärik" (marché de l'enfant Jésus). Depuis, Strasbourg perpétue la tradition d'un Noël alsacien traditionnel, authentique, chaleureux et généreux.

Avec ses quelque 300 chalets répartis sur 12 sites dans toute la ville illuminée, Strasbourg vous propose le plus grand marché de Noël d'Europe. Vous y trouverez de l'artisanat, des produits alimentaires et des décorations typiques du Noël alsacien.

Plébiscitée par les voyageurs du monde entier pour la qualité, la réputation et l'offre de son marché de Noël, Strasbourg, Capitale de Noël a été couronnée pour la 2e année consécutive, par le prestigieux titre du "Meilleur Marché de Noël d'Europe 2015" par l'organisation européenne "European Best Destinations".

Pour l'occasion, la ville se pare de ses plus beaux atours et est illuminée par plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres de guirlandes et de sujets décoratifs. Au cœur de l'hiver, le Grand Sapin, place Kléber va resplendir comme un bijou au cœur de Strasbourg, avec ses ornements les plus féériques. Tradition strasbourgeoise séculaire inscrite dans un manuscrit de 1605 décrivant les sapins ornés de décorations dans les salles des corporations strasbourgeoises, au moment de l'Avent.

Chaque année, au moment des festivités de Noël, un brin de magie supplémentaire s'empare de la Ville grâce à la découverte d'un pays invité. En 2015, Strasbourg a accueilli le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, dont vous avez pu découvrir tous les charmes, au Village luxembourgeois.

N'oublions pas, le Village du partage animé par les associations caritatives et humanitaires, installé au pied du Grand Sapin, car Noël ne serait pas si beau et si chaud sans cet élan de générosité envers son prochain.

Enfin, plus de 500 manifestations contribueront, une fois de plus, à faire de Strasbourg la capitale de Noël. Chacun appréciera la très grande offre culturelle proposée pour tous les goûts et tous les esprits. Des concerts, des spectacles, des animations et des expositions sont à découvrir au fil des ruelles, des places et des bâtiments historiques.

"Strasbourg Capitale de Noël", c'est la garantie d'un voyage inoubliable hors du temps dans la magie de Noël, pour les petits comme pour les grands !

Mais aussi, et pour la première fois, un autre Noël est possible... Et il existe ! En effet, Strasbourg laisse s'ouvrir les portes d'un Off organisé en marge du Marché de Noël traditionnel.

Laissez-vous surprendre...


 
Documents utiles